top of page

Let's talk about Epilepsy!!

I have had epilepsy since I was about 15 years old. So if you do the math if you know how old I am lol I have had it for 21 years. It's a pretty long time, back then I really didn't understand what I had or how to handle it I just went with the flow. Just like some normal teenagers. As I grew older I would get the questions from a lot of people "But you don't look like you have seizures you don't convulse like what seizures are for do?" See that is what a lot of people think what epilepsy is only about. People convulsing and to be honest before I was diagnosed that is what I thought also til we were told I had juvenile petite mal seizures.

I didn't have the convulsing, I had the staring off into space, I would look like I am daydreaming with it. I would be stopping what I am doing and have one without knowing because they are so quick. Because people couldn't see my seizures, a lot didn't believe that I had them but how can you defend yourself to some people who aren't educated that there is a lot more to seizures then the convulsing siezures. I am not 35 and my seizures have changed I have generalized epilepsy and myclonic seizures.

I am not sure what is going up there in my brain, I am forgetting everything, I am forgetting alot from my past memories I don't want to forget. My speech makes me feel like I am drunk all the time and I don't even drink. I have suffered migraine headaches since like middle school and my headaches are getting worse. I wanted people to know that some of the seizures that people have our silent and we don't look like we have anything but when we actually do. I just don't like the judgement out there like. Well you don't look sick. It's sad that there are people out there these days that keep doing this. So I just wanted to explain epilepsy well my kind of epilepsy and how it affects me.

Everybody is different. So epilepsy affects everyone in there own different way.

bottom of page